• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Do agencies lie in their contract postings?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do agencies lie in their contract postings?

This is probably a pretty naive question...

I've never used an agent before, but times are tough. I was browsing yesterday and came across this ad from Computer Futures. It's now all over the web, on lots of other job sites.

This was a surprise, because Norwich isn't a big place, and I know it well, and I'm pretty sure that there's no-one within 20 or 30 miles of Norwich who would use this technology. I spent a couple of hours googling, and have convinced myself that this is a scam - the killer is that a well-known IPTV company in Cambridge claims to have 850 customers, and would use exactly this technology.

So what's going on? Do all agencies lie? Can I believe anything I see advertised, or is it just Computer Futures doing this?

Originally posted by dac42 View Post
    Do all agencies lie?
    Possibly not all of them, but certainly a very high percentage do.
    Best Forum Advisor 2014
    Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
    Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment

Mind you, salary rates in Norwich don't seem to be too good anyway:

Salary: £30 - £40 per month + competitive
      Brexit is having a wee in the middle of the room at a house party because nobody is talking to you, and then complaining about the smell.

Comment