• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Chasing a debt

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chasing a debt

Hi,
    For a few months last year I worked as a software contractor via a limited company that I set up. I only worked on a single contract and I ended up not getting paid.

The invoices I issued were for just over £40,000 plus VAT (I am VAT registered).

The owner of the company that I did the work for has strung me along since September, just repeatedly saying that he "needs a few weeks to get the money together".

Things are not very clear cut because

1) I never got a signed contract from them (they sent me one to sign, but never signed it themselves)
    2) The company is in the UK, but most of the project's workforce as actually employed by a foreign company (owned by the same owner), so I think that they could chose to shut down the UK company if they wanted to

I do have some emails that I think show that there was a contract in place, including responses to my invoices that acknowledge receipt but then say that they are not sure when they will get paid.

I have waited patiently for them to sort their issues out, but I would now like to move the process forward, including taking legal action if necessary.

I think that I have perhaps not pushed enough over the last few months, and worry that this might harm my case. All the statements from the owner about needing more time have been verbal.