• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working in the UK for a Swedish Company and VAT

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working in the UK for a Swedish Company and VAT

Hi All

I started trading on the 1st of April. I worked for a Swedish company and then started contracting to cover a maternity period.

the set up is as follows. the Swedish company have a uk arm with whom I was employed with. the UK business is independent of my contract now and I have a contract in place with the Swedish company.

whilst sending the Swedish company an invoice from one of our suppliers, they said that there should be no vat on the invoice and that hey don't pay vat. now obviously this has implications for me in the sense that I am vat registered and intend to put vat on my invoices.

how can I handle this with the company, is there any rule/law that says they have to pay me the vat as a contractor based in the UK?

any advise, or comments welcome. any clarification required please let me know

Regards

If you're contracted with and invoicing a Swedish company for professional services then this would be outside the scope of UK VAT as the place of supply is almost certainly where the client belongs; the Swedish company should apply the reverse charge to your invoice (i.e. they account for VAT at their end).

Your invoice should not include VAT (its not a zero rated supply so I wouldn't even include a VAT line) and you should include a notice that the reverse charge applies.