• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New newbie saying hello. And asking for advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New newbie saying hello. And asking for advice

Hi everyone!

Newbie here and not contracting at the moment. I would really appreciate advice from more experienced contractors. I graduated more than a year ago, did 2 internships since then and after that landed on a monthly rolling contract which was extended 4 times. After that I found a permanent role, actually I didn't really want to go for it but an agent told me that it would be better if I start a permanent role, get some skills and show progression on my CV in order to get a much better paid contract jobs in 3-5 years. He said that it can be difficult to get better contracts in the future if I stay now as I will pigeonhole myself and will always have to go for those low paid contract jobs(I am a support person, 1st/2nd line) and it will be difficult to get a role with more responsibilities. At the moment I work as a permie and have been with the company for a month and am not really happy, not only because of the salary but because the progression the agent was talking about won't be that easy and because of the company politics and benefits which were pictured as fantastic but in reality are ridiculous, (good to keep those not very demanding graduates happy though). E.g share options after 4 years(4 years!), fizzy drinks for free(could be something healthier if you take care of employees), bonus capped at 5 or 10% - I will never forget HR