• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Clauses on Umbrella Contracts

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Clauses on Umbrella Contracts

Hi All

Welcome any advice the forum members can give on contract clauses for an Umbrella Company contract I'm due to sign:

- I'm new to Umbrella Company contracts

- I'm due to start a new contract on Monday - public sector, inside IR35, agency advised contract needs to go via an UC

- Have chosen one - sent in registration form

- I will only sign one contract, with the UC

- Agency will issue a Schedule Agreement to the UC, which the UC will only share with me if the agency gives them GDPR consent - seems a bit convoluted given the Schedule AGreement is referred to in the proposed contract - but so be it I guess

I've been reviewing the contract clauses, and have found a couple of things I need advice on please:

- Clause referring to extending the UC's business (?), worded as follows:
    " Your responsibilities include an ongoing duty to use your best endeavours to develop and extend our business, and to take all necessary steps to source new business for us in the form of suitable Client Assignments for you to perform under contracts between us and third parties."
    Is this normal? Never heard any reference to this before during negotiations with the UC