• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Tax & Advanced pay between assignments

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax & Advanced pay between assignments

Hi
    I am new to this forum as I am totally confused by my parasol payslip. I have been working for them for 14 months and despite sending several emails of which all I get back is cut and copied texts from their documents, I never really get full explanations so have just left as is i.e. why is my P45 showing different amount to my last payslip, the answer was your P45 is correct and not your payslip doesn't fill me with much confidence. Anyhow my question is regarding the fact that my contract finishes today. I have no intention of working for the remainder of this tax year and wondered about the advanced PBA assignments on my payslip. It appears that the amount that is currently on my payslip shows my full advance PBA for the entire year as it stays the same week in and week out. In regards to tax, will I be taxed for the full years advanced PBA? Looking at last years payslip it appears they 'give me' huge sums of PBA at the beginning of a new tax year which then tails off to much smaller amounts or no advance PBA as the year progresses. Also, I have a 4 week notice period with them, or the option of resigning, which am I better off doing, staying with them for the 4 weeks or actually resigning now? This is more from a tax perspective than anything else, or does it not make any difference.