• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Domain Trust Relationship over VPN

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Domain Trust Relationship over VPN

My company has been bought by a Belgium company and now need to set a Domain Trust over a VPN link. I have never done this before but I assume that a new DNS zone must be created for the new domain.
    Any ideas?

A lot depends on the VPN. Try:

http://openvpn.net/

"OpenVPN implements OSI layer 2 or 3 secure network extension using the industry standard SSL/TLS protocol"

Layer 2 allows for broadcasts, negating the need for a WINS server (effectively an ethernet bridge) and very little reconfig of the existing setup.

Notice it's tunneled - therefore NAT friendly and easy to configure through a firewall.

Comment

Very interesting site.
      I have the VPN side setup using Watchguard X1000, that works OK.
      The problem is when I tried to create the trust the domain cannot be found. I can ping the servers at the other side of the tunnel but DNS canoot resolve.

Comment

Originally posted by xondo
        Very interesting site.
        I have the VPN side setup using Watchguard X1000, that works OK.
        The problem is when I tried to create the trust the domain cannot be found. I can ping the servers at the other side of the tunnel but DNS canoot resolve.
        Name resolution is more important, so deal with that first:
        Have you populated the DNS with the new server(s) details? Include in-addr.arpa reverse lookups too.