• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Encapsulation -v- Component Design

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Encapsulation -v- Component Design

Something for the .net programmers out there. I guess this is a top level question... As you maybe some of you have read, I am going through an issue with quality of code etc.

My boss has delivered some code today / this morning which I cannot understand his logic. I'm a C# developer since PDC 2001 and he's from a from a C / C++ background. Everything to him he has to box as an Object, I'm still standing my ground and yes... there has to be a certain amount of encapsulation but not to the degree where code is unmanageable and you have to 'Go To Definition' in VS on several layers to understand what its doing. Surely we have an object but its Component Design now, albeit it's based on a Base Class. Finding it frustrating now. Segregate objects !

Sorry. I think I have to side with your boss here.

Whatever you think of his code, his concept is right.

An object should be a black box. It should have well documented public interfaces, but what goes on inside the box is, to you, as a consumer of the object, none of your business.