• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Motorola v500 and bluetooth - anybody got it to work?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Motorola v500 and bluetooth - anybody got it to work?

I have a Motorola v500 and it has bluetooth. What do I need to be able to get it to talk to my PC so that I can download photos and the address book. I'm new to bluetooth and guessing that I need some kind of reciever to plug into a slot or a USB port? Anybody done this and got it to work?

USB bluetooth dongle. About £20 from DABS.

Comment

re

Yeh. get a dongle and you should get interfacing software bundled with it. If you want to cook your own software interface you'll need a bluetooth stack. That's where I got stumped, but if you go down that route let us know.

Comment

Re: re

often bundled software is a pile of crock - in this case you might be better off finding free WindRiver's bluetooth vanilla drivers - they are pretty much the gold standard and everyone else is supposed to use them, just many do it very poorly.

Must say that bluetooth is much bigger pain in arse than WiFi - great in theory, poor (profile support) in practice.

Comment

Re: bluetooth

Carphone warehouse tried to flog me a bluetooth thingy that plugs into a USB port for £50 - but refused to guarantee that it would work with my phone! They also told me they don't do refunds, only credit notes, if it doesn't.