• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Android app development - what tech to use

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Android app development - what tech to use

It's likely I'm going to be developing an android app at work. It will actually be re-developing an existing app (supplied by another company), but probably starting from scratch. I believe the existing app was written using Xamarin.

I've not done any mobile app development (Android, iOS) before. My background is C#, .NET, Windows, ASP.NET/MVC, SQL Server. The machine I'll be using for development will most likely be a Windows laptop. Possibly Windows 10 but if they offer to buy a new machine I think I'd probably suggest Windows 11 (Professional).

I'm thinking about what development tools & language to use. Since my background is C# & .NET, Xamarin & Visual Studio seem like the obvious choice. However, one of Xamarin's advantages is cross platform. but I think the app will be Android only (no iOS requirement), so cross platform is not really relevant.