• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving On From An Access Database

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving On From An Access Database

OK, I am by no means a techie, I can handle a tiny bit of command line scripting but that's about it.

I have an Access database, storing various records etc and then pull of reports based on the underlying data.

I want to take it to the next step, ideally have some sort of dashboard that gets updated when ever the data is changed, it will not be very complex, its basically a list of hostnames and various release data associated with it. I would like it to be hostable so it can be viewed from a browser, I assume something so basic can be done with Python and MySQL.

Obviously being self hosted I would need to factor in security, but given a limited amount of experience in this how possible is it to pick up?
    Originally posted by Stevie Wonder Boy
    I can't see any way to do it can you please advise?

I want my account deleted and all of my information removed, I want to invoke my right to be forgotten.

Access isn't a database.

MySQL has free tutorials on the web. You should also be able to find them for python and linking to a database. It is a case of being able to Google.
    Last edited by SueEllen; 14 December 2015, 11:25.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

Originally posted by SueEllen View Post
      Access isn't a database.
      Unhelpful post du jour.