• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

2019 tax charge - consultation preparation

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rapidly going off topic on this one, and it was only said in jest.

That aside, I was in Vegas recently and the highest chip they offer is 100k (not that I could afford to gamble at that expense).

Back to the main topic now please...

Comment

Originally posted by Whysoserious View Post
      I'm no expert on this. Also the legislation hasn't even been drafted yet, so no one can give any solid information on how it will work (not even HMRC) IF it comes into force. It's the beauty of this announcement. It's so vague, people panic, discuss, debate and drum up fear. Fear on legislation that hasn't even been written yet.

However HMRC would like to present the 5th April 2019 tax charge as being the 'check-mate' move by the government. Regardless of whether the scheme wins in court, regardless of whether you have paid the APN or not. The 5th April 2019 tax charge will apply (in HMRC world).

I personally believe the legislation if given Royal Ascent would require so many safe guards, require to circumvent almost every existing corporate, employment and UK tax law that the limit of the legislation would limited.

Instead I see it as a tactic by HMRC to pressure people into settling, hence the 3 year wait for the legislation, that isn't even written yet, to be implemented.
      If HMRC were confident APNs would bring in money without challenge, they wouldn't need this legislation.