• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

University, huh, yeah What is it good for Absolutely nothing

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by MarillionFan View Post
    what spoils that is that the definition was written by "CUKKER"
    0/10
    Coffee's for closers

Comment

Originally posted by MarillionFan View Post
      From the above:

"I am very successful because I have a proper degree from a proper university - you are poor because you have facial warts & went to a poly."

Quite right. Couldn't have put it better myself.
      Hard Brexit now!
      #prayfornodeal

Comment

Originally posted by MyUserName View Post
        I dream of a setup where access to higher education was free for 'useful' courses provided the applicant was clever enough - although that would mean making A levels difficult again, which might require making GCSEs hard too.
        Who defines what's useful?

And is what is defined as useful fixed?

For example some orchestras a while ago where complaining about not having enough quality musicians.

And I know people with music degrees from some of the top music schools (where you study other subjects like languages) who now teach in Primary schools.

While they needed A levels their main way of getting on their courses was an audition.
        "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

Originally posted by SueEllen View Post
          Who defines what's useful?