• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

SKA news

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Re: PR

Anyone here going to join the early adopters and run AtW crawler on their PC and help the guy out?

When Alexei is as rich as Bill Gates he'll buy us all a Ferrari, except Threaded of course, he's get another Lambo to add to his collection.

Comment

Is it reasonably simple to do, bearing in mind I’m no expert in web thingies?

Comment

Some of us already have...
        (not at the moment as machine busy doing something else)

Comment

riches

> When Alexei is as rich as Bill Gates he'll buy us all a Ferrari,

I tell you what guys -- should I become seriously wealthy as the result of this project then I would be obliged and pleased to share big chunk of cash with those who helped me -- pro-rata of contribution and taking time of joining into account as well as extra stuff.

This will be as much to reward those who helped, but also to seriously annoy those who did not

Comment

fairly hard

> Is it reasonably simple to do, bearing in mind I’m no expert in web thingies?

Its fairly hard -- checked codebase last night, its at ~80k lines, the only library I use is gz/bz2 compression. Looking back won't say its fooking impossible, but there were many hard moment and there will be -- doing these things that require high performance and good memory management is certainly a challenged in .NET.