• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Cycling is, umm, safe

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I cycle 20 miles per day to and from work in Central London in rush hour. I've been doing this for 3 years. I always cycle defensively and although you can't 100% avoid accidents you can certainly limit the chances of having one by not being stupid. I see lots of cyclists risking serious injury - it doesn't bother me though as if they get knocked off as it keeps my accident chances low by skewing the average. It helps being a car driver as you read the road much better that a cyclist who doesn't have a driver's licence.

I've come off twice in 3 years - once was when I was riding too fast at Winchester station near my house and hit a car side on because I couldn't stop in time. My guard was down because it was a country road. The second time a numpty stepped off a kerb right in front of me in Old Broad St and I hit him in the legs. Luckily both times nothing was broken but as I get older it takes a good few weeks for the bruises to heal.
    ...my quagmire of greed....my cesspit of laziness and unfairness....all I am doing is sticking two fingers up at nurses, doctors and other hard working employed professionals...

Comment

Originally posted by dang65 View Post
      I seem to remember there was a safety campaign aimed at motorcyclists a couple of years ago which concentrated on educating them to look out for themselves, to be prepared for dangers and the actions of other road users.