• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Can someone paraphrase the need for the EU?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by London75 View Post
    I'm no expert on most things economical and political but I'm trying to pay more attention these days and absorb a bit more knowledge.

However one area I still know very little about (one of many areas) is why we need the EU.

So as a few on here say "pah, we'd be nothing without Europe", can you explain why? What are the benefits and what is the drive for a blanket constitution and uniform legislation?

I am biased against after living in France for a while but am mostly open minded.

For example, if we are in to "give something back" to the poorer states then so be it, just want to know what it's for and why we want to be in it.
    We need the EU to help us decide what shape our bananas should be.

They will also try to do what atw wants - which is to make the city uncompetitive so it moves back to New York. Well he wants the first bit but not the second bit.

Comment

It's essential for the likes of Mandelson, Kinnock and other has-beens to keep their noses in the tax-payers trough.

Toot-toot! Let's all ride the EU gravy train!

Apart from that, zero benefit whatsoever.

HTH

Comment

Originally posted by Bob Dalek View Post