• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor turned permie

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor turned permie

How many people here turned permie -

Just noticed my attitude changes when moving from contract to permie - thought the overall package for my permies is very close to my contract (i.e. basic + bonus = contractor pay) and this is not counting all the extra benefits e.g. training/paid holidays/sickies etc etc.. mind you the tax situation is not as great !!

Any ho, when I was a contractor I didn't give a flying monkey about what I was doing or who I was working with, as long as I got paid am as happy as can be.

Now as a permie, though from a money point of view am getting paid well and very close to my contractor income, things do bug me, i.e. I actually care about work, and (gasp) I actually care about the team, I want to have interesting tasks to do, I want to have a good team round me blah blah blah (needless to say at the moment am doing crap low level data mapping analysis, and team members are lazy political fawkers)

I tried talking myself into just treat this job as an ongoing contract - but arrrrrrgh the devil within needs feeding day dreaming of becoming to be a contractor again ...

What does this mean ?? any success stories out there of becoming a permie and having a contractor 'don't give a $hit mentality?

Nope...you're fecked!
    Property advisor for the people

Comment

You have to buy in when you become a permie... thats why you (I) do it..