• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

HELP! I want to go permi.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP! I want to go permi.

Hi, I have been contracting for this company for a couple of months and last week my manager has offered me this great permanent post. They are very keen on me but they do not want to pay the agency release fee. Is there anything I can do a part from waiting 6 months?
    Andre`

Pull yourself together man. They'll never take me alive!
    "Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience". Mark Twain

Comment

Come to a creative compromise: e.g. in exchange for 6 months slumming it, they pay you a 15% signing-on bonus.

But I'd be wary about going permanent with a company that couldn't scrape together a 30% recruitment fee. Actually I'd just be wary about going permanent.

Comment

Originally posted by andre05
        Hi, I have been contracting for this company for a couple of months and last week my manager has offered me this great permanent post. They are very keen on me but they do not want to pay the agency release fee. Is there anything I can do a part from waiting 6 months?
        Andre`
        If the client is willing to shaft another company that is known to have a gaggle of tame lawyers, what might they do to you one day; you who'll have to go running around various conveyancing/divorce shops 'til they find a real solicitor?

Oh, and if an offer feels too good to be true, it often is.

Jeez, one born every minute.