• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

PAYE Umbrella Companies and redundancy

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

PAYE Umbrella Companies and redundancy

Hi per my contract of employment I work as a 'flexible employee' for a payroll services umbrella company. I have had over 2 years continuous employment at a client site and now my contract is not being renewed as teh role is disappearing. Does anyone know if I inherit employee rights of redundancy or is the umbrella company covered. Ive asked DTI who say regardless of who or how I'm paid I probably am entitled. Whilst the umbrella company say despite the contract ending they are not making me redundant. On closer inspection my contract has a section under 'payment' where is reads 'national mininum wage or rate agreed by the end client at the start of an assingment' so I wondered if after Friday they might be planning on paying me the minimum wage (which I thought was a bit odd) however the contract also has a clause of when I am between assignments apparantly they dont have to pay me?! It seems like its a bit convuluted and the payroll services company whilst fully saying they are my employer also are not appearing to be too direct and whilst statutory redundancy isnt a bit amount, I've not secured anything else and could do with it if entitled but am not keen to go running to a lawyer as the cost may outway the actual payment due!
    any knowledge or advice on this would be appreciated
    onion