• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working as a contractor in Turkey for a British Company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working as a contractor in Turkey for a British Company

Hi All,

My name is Kaan. I am a Turkish citizen and living in Istanbul. I received a job offer from a British company which is an engineering position in Turkey. I have never worked as a contractor before because generally jobs are permanent in Turkey. I don't know anything about contractor work. They offered me £20 per hour 45 hour per week. They have described me the job details and it seems suitable for me. But this company doesn't have any branch office in Turkey. However I have got some concerns about this job. They have given me the contact details of an umbrella company in UK which they currently work together.

I can't ask anything to the umbrella company because they are all on christmas vacation. I just learned that the umbrella company takes £85 per month.

Can anyone explain me this process?
    Do I have to get work and residence permit from British government (job will be in Turkey, I don't think so)
    Do I have to contribute national insurance in UK?
    Am I going to pay any tax to UK? If yes, so how much is it?
    How can I calculate my net income?

I know I've asked lots of questions but before accepting this offer I need to clarify all these problems.

Hi.

What happened later on?

Originally posted by southaegean View Post
    Hi All,