• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Chargable hours whilst working away

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chargable hours whilst working away

Hi everyone

I'm new to the contracting game, and have just finished my first month outside IR35 with a managed company. My contract states my place of work as my client's UK office however they now want me to visit their offices in India for two trips (5 days then 12 days).

As I charge by the hour, should I only charge for the hours that i am actually in the Indian offices, or as i will effectively be away from home for three weeks (including losing weekends etc.) should I charge more? i.e. a fixed number of hours per day or something?

Does anyone know the correct etiquette?

Many thanks in advance

Alex

Charge as much as you can get away with. If you are working through an agent they will probably be able to advise you on what is best (for both you and them).
    Serving religion with the contempt it deserves...

Comment

For India I would charge them for Business Class air fare, plus I would bill them for travelling time (the flights), then charge for all the time spent outside the hotel (i.e. all travelling time is chargeable). It's the least they can do, since they're outsourcing over there the savings will be immense. Their systems will be tulip, but then that's their problem. Let them off the weekends, and go and enjoy yourself, but make sure you charge your room tab as well.
      His heart is in the right place - shame we can't say the same about his brain...