• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie advice please

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie advice please

Hi,

My first post and I'm a newbie to the world of contracting, although I think I've got a reasonable grasp of the basics..

A bit of background - I was permie until about a year ago, made redundant and - to cut a long story short - have been looking for contracting roles ever since. I've set up an account with an umbrella firm, have been job hunting through agencies, consultancies and a bit of "direct to the firm". I recently applied for a permanent post directly to a firm, and off the back of an interview with said firm have been offered a contract role to start ASAP. But there's a few things I'm not 100% on.

1: As I understand it, the "client" pays their recruitment agency to do all the admin, I fill in timesheets with my umbrella company who invioices the agency. The agency will be taking a cut of the daily rate, and I pay my umbrella their fee.