• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Going it alone

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Going it alone

Hi,

I've been a traditional contractor for about 5 years now, where traditional means lookup a role on job site or speak to agents and spend the duration of the contract in the clients office. It's been great, I've really enjoyed it but I've got a real urge to tender for larger contracts and implement their requirements (from my home/office), perhaps hiring contractors to help if need be.

My problem is that I've no idea where to find clients. There are a few sites out there that aggregate contracts and allow one to submit a tender but I'm finding them to be poor quality and, well, useless. Can anyone give me any pointers; where do I find clients?

I do about 50/50 contracting/consultancy and the real problem I have is that the consultancy part requires me to be far stronger in sales, marketing and PR than I've ever had to consider as a contractor.

IF you have:
    - the contacts
    - the sales nouse
    - the marketing nouse
    - the PR nouse
    - a decent bit of luck
    then you MIGHT get a decent career out of proper consultancy work. The fewer of those you have, the harder your job will be.

You then have to assume that you'll have less work but for more money than contracting, then you have to deduct the "free" time you give to clients for sales/marketing and, all in, you'll probably make a bit less than if you were contracting for 6-8 months a year.