• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Notice period problem

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Notice period problem

Hi Chaps,

new to these forums so be gentle with me.

I'll cut straight to the chase, I'm an opted out contractor, who got laid off today. My contract with the agent states 4 weeks' notice, however his contract with the client states 1 weeks' notice. So the client quite courteously signed this week's timesheet and next weeks and then tossed me out the building.

Question is how easy/difficult will it be to get the agent to cough up for the other three weeks of notice pay. I've had a quick look online and there seems to be some confusion as to if I can claim without timesheets, if I will get paid without working those three weeks, or a host of other conflicting opinions.

Anyone out there been through this before and have any authoritative answers?

Thanks in advance for any opinions offered

Regards

Originally posted by eeynmre View Post
    Hi Chaps,

I'll cut straight to the chase, I'm an opted out contractor, who got laid off today. My contract with the agent states 4 weeks' notice, however his contract with the client states 1 weeks' notice. So the client quite courteously signed this week's timesheet and next weeks and then tossed me out the building.