• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

applying for perm role,contract experience count against you???

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

applying for perm role,contract experience count against you???

i have recently applied for a perm role locally and one of the recruiters advertising it said they were reluctant to put me forward because i have been doing contract roles for past 5 years and have ''jumped from one job to another".is this a common problem?

Originally posted by SPURSN17 View Post
    i have recently applied for a perm role locally and one of the recruiters advertising it said they were reluctant to put me forward because i have been doing contract roles for past 5 years and have ''jumped from one job to another".is this a common problem?
    This was a problem I encountered, however try and force home the fact that you want to put some roots down and highlight the benefit of working local

Comment

I get a fair number of calls from people wanting me to return to the 'dark side', so I'd say not.
      +50 Xeno Geek Points
      Come back Toolpusher, scotspine, Voodooflux. Pogle
      As for the rest of you - DILLIGAF

Purveyor of fine quality smut since 2005

CUK Olympic University Challenge Champions 2010/2012

Comment

It can be. In the perception of a percentage of employers and some agents a contractor going perm is only looking for another short term position and they will be off as soon as they find a good contract.