• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Questions that agents ask...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Questions that agents ask...

Although I've been contracting for nearly 5 years, I class myself as fairly new, as my last contract lasted 4 years and I'm only on my 2nd contract now.

Anyhow, after speaking to many agencies in those past years, they always seem to ask the same questions, which I answer and then hang up the phone wondering if I've given the right answer.

So I'm going to try and list some here, and more than likely add to them as I remember them, and try to get a feel for what the right/best answer to their questions is!

1. You see a rate of say, £200-300 a day, and they ask you How much you think you would want? - This is posted further down the board but thought I'd include it.

2. Do you think your current contract will get extended? I always find this a funny one, as if I thought that OR I wanted to stay in my current contract then surely I wouldn't be applying for the position you are advertising.

3. I apply for a job in say, Sheffield, and I live in Liverpool. And they ask do you know how far away this job is? Even though I'm the one who has tailored my CV to it, and read all about it. And the only reason I'm applying for a job in Sheffield/Stockport/Rotheram etc is because there are none in Liverpool.