• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie .Net contracting advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie .Net contracting advice

Hi,

I'm looking for some advice for a permie who is seriously considering changing my career to become a contractor. I've been working for 7 years in .Net ranging from windows apps to bespoke web development for large firms and media agencies.

I get paid a pretty decent (for Glasgow) 40K at the moment and know I should be grateful in the current climate but I'm sick of working for companies who don't give a real damn about their employees. I'd like to work for myself and at least cash in whilst working on unsatisfying roles. I've given a lot of thought to contracting and have decided that the lifestyle is for me.

Can anyone give me any advice on how the contracting market has been this year for .Net roles in general, and if possible how they've been in Glasgow? I'd rate myself a pretty decent develpoper and I generally have no problem conveying a sense of professionalism during interviews but I'm wary of a lack of real opportunities at the moment. I've had a look through jobserve and there's nothing. Would the local agencies tend to have all the contracting opportunities kept behind the scenes or are there literally just none around?