• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

just got a new contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

just got a new contract

Friends
    Just managed to secure a contract.I was a permie and managed to get a contract.I'm in process of setting up ltd co etc..
    just had a few queries as I'm new to contracting.
    1.My client gave me 1 week notice period in my contract is that normal ?
    2.I was told the contract is for 6 months (even at interview) but when I got a contract I got it for 3 months initially..when I asked the agent , he told me that it is a law that the company cannot give 6 month contract straight away but they do it in 3 month extensions.Is that correct?
    3.The agent gave me a opt out agreement to sign, should i sign it or no.
    4.Please suggest if I need to know anything else.

Obviously I'm aware of the risk involved in contracting but just wanted to get clarification on things

Thanks

Originally posted by beoptima View Post
    Just managed to secure a contract.

Yep. Could have been a month or none or anything inbetween. Don't worry too much; if they don't like you you'll be dismissed on the spot anyway. Welcome to contracting.
    2.I was told the contract is for 6 months (even at interview) but when I got a contract I got it for 3 months initially..when I asked the agent , he told me that it is a law that the company cannot give 6 month contract straight away but they do it in 3 month extensions.Is that correct?