• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How to shut up an agent

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to shut up an agent

I'm new to contracting but already I'm fed up of agents trying to tap me for references pre-interview because apparently their "reputation is on the line with this one" and I've "never worked for them before so we need to check you out".

So from what I've gathered in these forums is that it's an unwritten rule of contracting to never give out your references BEFORE the interview (correct me if I'm wrong).

What I'd like to know is how you (ideally politely) stop agents dead in their tracks when they ask for references without having to have a 5 minute argument EVERY TIME over why I'm not going to give them?

Any tips?

1)Opt out of the agency regs.

2)Tell them that you'd be delighted to give them the refs but to protect the refs and the agency you need to make sure they are only contacted after a job is offered. That way the agency will get a clean run at the refs.

3)Find an agency which doesn't require refs up front.

4)Stop using agencies, hire an office and a part time sec and get her to cold call clients for you like most other businesses. If nothing else, this will put your "problem" in some perspective

Comment

Give them your previous agents number not the end client.

They love that .

Comment

I'm thinking it'd be novel just to speak my mind.

Agent: Before we put you forward we're going to need to check out your references, you know, because, you've not worked with us before