• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

website creation

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

website creation

have people used someone to make a site, or dont i themselves? my website skills are ok i.e. i can make one, but i dont believe it looks professional enough.

What content generally goes on there? contact details and what services you provide i assume?

Does anyone just use their webforwarding to something like linkedin.com?
    I didn't say it was your ******* fault, I said I was blaming you!

I'm no designer but I can hack with html. I downloaded a template from one of the many freesites and added my own changes.

Another suggestion would be to install a free content mangement solution like joomla and customise that.

Comment

I hosted a WordPress blog on my site - static pages for the permanent stuff like who I am, what I do, etc. etc. plus blog pages for my blog.

Looks pretty good, plus is dead easy to maintain and moderate, and it integrates easily with the blog (with a decent anti-spam filter, which was killing my old blog).

(And it's not the website you get when you go from my profile on here!)
      Best Forum Advisor 2014
      Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
      Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment

I based mine on a freebie template and went from there.

Comment