• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Best/worst months for finding new contracts

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best/worst months for finding new contracts

Hello all,

I am currently in a contract post where I've been for nearly a year - having had my contract renewed three times. I'm being offered another contract extension with an end date at the end of December. I've been contracting for a few years now but have always been looking for contracts in March/April/May/June or latter in the year around September/October/November. Don't know why that is but it has always been my experience!This has raised a question in my mind about the best and worst months to be looking for new contracts.

Does anybody have a view of seasonal trends in the contract market, based on their own research or experiences? Are there months/times of year which are typically slow - August springs to mind - and others which typically boom?

I wouldn't mind a holiday in January but would be interested to know what it is like looking for work then!

Interested to hear your thoughts,

Michael

Originally posted by maikenhead
    Hello all,