• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice for first timer

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice for first timer

I'm in need of some honest advice I'm a software developer with over 11 years experience currently working as a permie where I've been for nearly 8 years.
    Over past year I've been getting peed off and decided I want to go contract on my own. I just found out that there's a chance of redundancy coming so I'm in two minds as to whether this is a good thing or not given the current climate.

I live in the North East but would be prepared to travel as I do this quite a bit in my current job.
    Anyone know what the N East is like for development jobs at the mo? Is now not the time to be thinking about going contract for the first time?

I suggest you look on jobserve to get an idea of how much work there is in your area of expertise and geographic location.

It's generally felt that this is not a good time to begin contracting.

Comment

Originally posted by Platypus View Post
      I suggest you look on jobserve to get an idea of how much work there is in your area of expertise and geographic location.

It's generally felt that this is not a good time to begin contracting.
      WHS

However, being made redundent is how I became a contractor. Find out what the situation is, if you are made redundent you will at least have a payoff from your employer and then see what is best, contracting or going back permie.

I would not jump ship now on the off chance.