• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

PI Insurance for short contract using Umbrella

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

PI Insurance for short contract using Umbrella

I am new to contracting and would like advice on Professional Indemnity Insurance. I have a 4 month contract and am using ContractorUmbrella rather than my own Ltd. company. The client contract states that the 'Contractor' must have £1million professional Indemnity insurance. Does this mean for me (called the 'Consultant' in the contract) or for the Umbrella company (called the 'Contractor' in the contract)? Has anyone used the PI insurance linked to from the ContractorUmbrella site? This policy is arranged by Blyth Valley and uses Hiscox insurance.
    I also looked at the contractor UK recommended insurance with Caunce O'Hara. The first thing this asks for is 'Company Name'. As I am not a Ltd company but using an umbrella, what do I put in there or is it innapropriate for someone using an umbrella?