• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

(another) First Timer looking for advice pls!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

(another) First Timer looking for advice pls!

HI there

Just found the site - pls be gentle - and had a look around but looking for a expert opinion on a contract i'm about to get into, and specifically if i'm being stupid with this (rate, expenses, ir35 etc). I'm a first time contractor.

Its about 400pd and short-term so about 2 months work. Its about 110 miles from where I live, so i'd be taking short term accommodation (approx 100gbp per week) and covering these costs myself.

I would work from home when the project work allows (decided by me but mostly the hours are 9-5 to fit in with the needs of the business). The work is a QA type testing by the way.

I may go back to permanent after this, but not sure so in the first instance i'll go with a umbrella company. More tax paid for sure, but i'm not too concerned by this at this stage. If it works out, and I can get further contracts (will likely always need to travel) then i'll go the Ltd route.

I don't mind the travel aspect as there is no work where I live (perm or contract) and the money seems acceptable to me.

Does this all sound sensible?

Any major items to watch out for?

Any and all advice, opinions appreciated.

Thanks!
    Brian

The first thing to be aware of is that if you're going down the Umbrella Co. route you don't need to worry about IR35 since your earnings will be paid as a salary by the Umbrella.