• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First Contract – couple of questions about IR35 and opting-out.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Contract – couple of questions about IR35 and opting-out.

FINALYYYYY !!!

I have been offered a 2 months contract as a Sys admin. Now since I am a complete newbie I am not sure if I should chase being outside IR35. A role as a System admin sounds a lot like an in-house person/position to me.

The agency said their contract is totally IR35 friendly. ( haven’t seen it yet ).

2 questions:

1. Would you recommend me to stay inside to avoid troubles from lacking experience in handling IR35?

2. The agency want me to sign their “Agency Regulations Opt-out” form. The form states that I opt-out. The agency told me I want to be opted-out because:

a. They (the agency) don’t have to be doing background checks on me.
    b. Being opted-out flavors the IR35 compliance.

I know there is something they are not telling me - what is the gotcha of being opted –out ?

Phuuu.

Originally posted by 2uk
    I know there is something they are not telling me - what is the gotcha of being opted –out ?
    1. If the client doesn't pay them, they don't have to pay you.
    2. They can enforce a clause in the contract that prevents you from working directly with the client once your period through the agency ends.