• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 when contracting for foreign business

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 when contracting for foreign business

I am an experienced programmer /analyst of 40 years experience. I have several years experience of IT contracting, but have been happily permanently employed for the past 15 years. Recently, a seemingly lucrative contract opportunity has come up for which I am ideally suited. The contract would be with a foreign employer which I could fulfil from home in the UK. Would I be caught be IR35, or would working for a foreign business make it possible to avoid? Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Welcome to the website. It's worth doing a bit of reading, particularly this thread (a sticky post in the "Accounting/Legal" forum):
    Be careful if you take Outside IR35 contracts - Contractor UK Bulletin Board

In brief, if the client is fully overseas (no UK branch office) then chapter 8 of ITEPA applies and you're responsible for the SDS. That doesn't mean that you can ignore IR35, because the 3 pillars still apply (MoO, RoS, D&C).

Comment

Originally posted by Redpanda View Post