• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 insurance when closing down a business

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 insurance when closing down a business

I'm closing down my limited company after 3 years of activity.
    For the last three years I worked outside IR35 and my contracts were assessed outside IR35 by QDOS several times. I have been paying QDOS IR53 tax enquiry insurance for the past 3 years.

Even If I am closing the company, I understand I should carry on paying IR35 insurance to protect myself against potential future HMRC's investigation on my past activities. Also I want peace of mind so I think it makes sense.

I spoke with QDOS about their IR 35 insurances offering:
    Option 1: Tax enquiry insurance only covering representation cost - 99£
    Option 2: Tax Liability Coverage covering my potential IR35 liabilities + representation cost - From £199

My questions are :

1- Any negative experiences on QDOS IR 35 insurance?
    2- Even if I'm closing I guess it would still make sense to go for option 2 for peace of mind?
    3- Anything I should be aware of regarding QDOS policies? Thinking about specific clauses etc...
    4- Can I expense the cost through my LTD before I close it down?
    5- Anyone in same situation chosen a different IR 35 insurance provider?
    6- Any other things I should be aware of let me know thanks