• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor CV

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor CV

Howdy,

I've been contracting for about 8 years and was perm for 10 before that. I have had 4 perm roles and 11 contracts in that 18 years. My CV has a paragraph (header with role info/ company/ location etc, and 3/4 bullet points of key roles/ tasks ).

Problem with this is that my CV is now 5 pages. I'm concerned that my CV is too big, but do not want to chop too much out. My roles have all been around SQL, but in a number of different environments and using various skills and elements.

How do other people manage their CV's?

Thanks

Originally posted by MajesticBadger View Post
    List the key projects with details, which are most relevant to the role you're applying for.

Add a line that additional details of other roles available on request or at interview or on LinkedIn.
    I'm not fat, I'm just fluffy.

Comment

I've got a generic 3-pager with the best bits and a 6-pager with everything that I'll save a copy of and chop down for more niche roles.

Keep it achievement based, focus on delivering, helping, training, mentoring, etc - showing that you're a delivering contractor that adds value.
      The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world that he didn't exist

Comment

Howdy,