• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New Contractor - work but no contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Contractor - work but no contract

As it says I'm new to contracting, I'm working through a Limited company and I've been working for 3 weeks and there is still no sign of a contract - I did mention it but the client thought it unnecessary - they seem happy, they do pay me on time and the cheques don't bounce. But I have this nagging suspicion though - why do I really need the signed bit of paper ( this is working direct, not through an agency) - will it make a difference to the Inland Revenue?

Direct

I worked directly without a contract a number of times. As long as you have most things like rates, overtime, travel, etc via a written email from the client then you have covered the most important things. The revenue are unlikely to approach you if you are direct with a client. If they do then it will be a case of explaining your working relationship which will prove a more difficult case to prove than using the usual approach of contacting the agency and getting a copy of your current contract.

In one situation I had a direct contract (FTSE100 company) and I was hanging around for a month for a software release, the client promised to pay me to wait but in the end didn't have the cash. I either take them to court (that was discussed) or I forget about it and finish the job off. I finished the job off and recouped my losses with a bit of creative invoicing.

Comment

contract