• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Australian wanting to contract in UK/Europe

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Australian wanting to contract in UK/Europe

I am contemplating contracting in UK/Europe. I think that I can gain a UK work permit as my wife's grand parents were born in England. However, I will need to double check this. My background is SAP Basis, and looking at the job ads, there seems to be a number of new contracts created each day.

What I am after is background information about contracting in UK/Europe from non UK/European people who have done it in the past. I have read the introductory information from various UK websites, but would now like to find out what experiences/obstacles other people have encountered.

I have browsed the other postings, but they don't seem to cover this. there are companies who say they perform everything to get me set up over there, but I don't know how well they will do it.

Any piece of information is valuable to me.

Thank you in advance.

You'll get a work permit. They hand them out like candy.

Places like www.1stcontact.co.uk will do everything from setting up a bank account to running your money through a Ltd company to get you the ost wonga at month end. They charge about 5%. There are other companies out there that do this as well, best to read some reviews before you commit to one though.

Comment

Anybody that pays 5% of their income in accountancy fees needs to look around.

Alan

Comment

<fleetwood>