• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Going Direct

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Going Direct

I am currently speaking to a PM at a client I have worked for previously about a potential new gig.
    I have never worked direct before, but as there is no agent involved at this stage, should I suggest to the PM that I go direct ??

What are the pros and cons of going direct ??

Depends on the client.

The only time I went direct, I ended up with payment hassles and had to take them to court (search for the thread). If the client is reputable this shouldn't happen.
    The benefit of an agency is payment brokering to ensure the contractor gets paid on time.
    The main thing is getting a better rate by cutting out the middle man - I am sure the more experienced guys on here can give you a better opinion.

Comment

also depends on how long ago you worked for them thru the agency

Comment

Originally posted by scriptfromscratch
        also depends on how long ago you worked for them thru the agency
        Thats not a problem - it was four years ago.

Also, its a bank - they should be OK paying shouldn't they ??

Comment

Originally posted by G8_Summit
          Thats not a problem - it was four years ago.

Also, its a bank - they should be OK paying shouldn't they ??
          The bigger the company the harder it is to get the money out of them in my experiance. More people to lose the paperwork etc.