• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New Contractor - Advice on Agencies Please

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Contractor - Advice on Agencies Please

I am about to hand in my notice but having found this forum today am quite nervous after reading some of the posts about agencies.

I have been working for the NHS for 14 years, have been PM for National IT deployment projects for 5 years, successfully deployed some IT related projects as well. Used to be the Web Development Manager there and have some programming skills. We were the first trust to move 4000+ users from Windows XP to Windows 7. I am technical have a Masters Degree in Health Informatics and Prince 2 and MSP.

I don't have any savings - but can type really well - have over 12 years experience as a secretary and would be prepared to temp if I couldn't get any contracting work. I live in Dorset but have free accommodation in Stansted in Essex during the week so can work in London.

I have been contacted almost daily by agencies over the last six months telling me that I will not have a problem getting work at all as I have really solid experience and a very strong CV. But reading the boards, it would seem that agencies lie!