• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Question on Maternity pay

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question on Maternity pay

Hi,

I have been working for the last 3 years through my own limited company. I am pregnant and due in the next 1 month. I have just stopped working and plan to close down the company in the next 1 month. I have not claimed any SMP through my own company so far. Would I be able to get Maternity Allowance or any benefit from HMRC? I spoke to the maternity allowance jobcentre plus team and they say i am not eligible and need to go through the SMP route. To get SMP , I need to keep my company open and running for next 9 months atleast + more to wait for HMRC to process the refund. In that I would incur legal and accounting costs and most of the money I get through SMP would go to defray such costs.

Any advice on how to proceed would be greatly appreciated ?

This link comes up from Google search under maternity payments for self employed https://www.gov.uk/maternity-allowance/what-youll-get
    Connect with me on LinkedIn

Follow us on Twitter.

ContractorUK Best Forum Advisor 2015

Comment

Originally posted by nehaksal View Post
      To get SMP , I need to keep my company open and running for next 9 months atleast + more to wait for HMRC to process the refund. In that I would incur legal and accounting costs and most of the money I get through SMP would go to defray such costs.

Any advice on how to proceed would be greatly appreciated ?
      The above is not true.