• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Expenses and P11D submission

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Expenses and P11D submission

Howdy all,

i'm in a bit of a pickle and i'm hoping someone can give me some helpful advise

Nievely, i made the mistake of not getting an accountant after setting up my LTDCo. A massive undersight on my behalf, but too late in the day to do anything about it now.

So, I've been contracting since August 2012, and am filling out my self assessment, due today.

I've paid myself a 7k salary, and have also accumulated about 2k of expenses (rail tickets), bike miles and entertainment. unfortunately, my bank didnt give me a company debit card, so it's all gone on to my personal account/card.

I want to claim this amount back, however, i see i should submit a P11D.

I have not enrolled for PAYE, so I cannot submit a P11d.

Does anyone know what will happen if i submit my expenses without the P11D going in?

HMRC have never sent me anything requesting the P11D - yeesterday was the first time i had heard of it.

Thanks in adviance all.

And newbies, get an accountant

There would be no tax implications to the expenses as long as they are all wholly and exclusively for business purposes, so no loss to HMRC which makes things easier to resolve.

I would suggest giving HMRC a call and explaining the position to them. In theory they could register you for PAYE and then you'd file a (very late) P11D. Ask them about this and what the penalty position would be before you do it though!