• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Umbrella->Limited : Getting nearly everything in dividends

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Umbrella->Limited : Getting nearly everything in dividends

Hi everybody,

I have been contracting for 5 months through an umbrella company and am now thinking of creating my limited company.

Given that :
    my contract falls outside IR35
    I am not interested in pension for the moment
    Ive already earned a salary which is around the 10 12k braket that "most" accountant would suggest to extract as salary when I was working under my umbrella cie.

Could I potentially pay myself only in dividends when operating through my future Ltd company until year end (next April)? Or should I still pay myself with low salary (amount to be confirmed)?

I guess this is no definite answer to that question and this will have to be analyzed by my future accountant, but I wanted to have you guys point of view on the issue

Thanks!

No, you don't need to pay yourself a salary as an officer (Director) of YourCo unless you have a formal contract of employment (in which case NMW legislation will apply). In short, you can pay only dividends if it makes sense to do so (or leave everything in the company, if you prefer), and your accountant will advise on that. The part about "my contract falls outside IR35"; make sure you've had the appropriate contract reviews and your working practices are aligned. Also, make sure you understand the concept of a warchest. Getting a good accountant is a good start