• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dormant companies, corp tax bills and the definition of an accounting transaction

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dormant companies, corp tax bills and the definition of an accounting transaction

Hello all,
    neither HMRC nor Companies House seem to know the answer to this, so I'm hoping someone here does!
    I am a contractor and I have a limited company with a financial y/e of 31/03.
    I am considering taking a permanent job, in which case I will have to either close my company, or make it dormant.
    Even if I decide to make it dormant, my corp tax bill for the 12/13 accounting year will have to be paid in the 13/14 accounting year.
    Will this corp tax payment be defined as an accounting transaction? Therefore will my company then be defined as active in 13/14?
    Or is there another way around this?
    Thanks

A dormant company in the eyes of Companies House is one that has never traded since incorporation (these companies can file very simple Dormant Company Accounts to them). If the ltd co has previously traded (as seems to be the case with yours) then Companies House will still require full or abbreviated accounts to be submitted each year.