• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

From Self-employed to Limited during tax Year

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

From Self-employed to Limited during tax Year

Hi everyone,

Just like many of you I'm an IT contractor who recently opened it's own limited company and (perhaps unlike many of you) is founding the whole tax rules and business literature quite interesting.. I might be more of an accountant than an developer who knows Too bad the HMRC has so many theory and little practical examples.

But to the point, I've start my freelance in mid April this year with an Umbrella / trust management company that, making a long story short, paid me 1/3 of my salary as taxable and the rest from a trust fund as loans repayable in 50 years time.. or not. So they say.. After finishing the contract I had at the time, I stopped working with that Umbrella and opened my Ltd in mid-may. To make matters worse this umbrella / trust fund didn't do any NIC or PAYE payments

Basically

mid-april - mid-may - Trust company
    mid-may (2 days) - now - Ltd

Now, my question is how do I handle this in terms of taxes and should plan the my wage as director?
    Because I have a service contract I know I have to pay my self the minimum wage but having work with that umbrella before should my salary = NMW - (money from trust company) to keep a balance of making the tax man happy and getting the most out of the money?