• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Returnee: What's the take-home on 440/day via Ltd Company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Returnee: What's the take-home on 440/day via Ltd Company

Hello everyone, I'm a new member.

I've been browsing this site. Fantastic find. Lots of good info and chat. I've seen advice about this topic, but no firm numbers.

I've been contracting for 9 years in Windows systems support. Been outside UK for about 7 years now.

I have an offer in the city at GBP 440/day and I don't know if I should go for it. I will be caught by ir35.

I've tried some online tax calculators and they suggest for a single man that I'll pay a HUGE amount of tax. Approaching 50% of the gross. Please tell me that is wrong. If I have to pay that much tax, plus 17.5% tax on every purchase plus dearest rents in Europe and v high costs .... I'm worrying that a move to London will leave me poorer !!

I have no car, house, children, wife. So should be kind of easy to calc.

In your experience what's the typical ball-park take-home on 440/day. I realise we all have different expenses to take account of.

Also: I've been pointed towards Isle of Man type off-shore solutions offering approx 80% take-home. I suspect these would not stand up to scrutiny by the authorities. Whatever solution I might go for needs to be pretty much all above-board as I don't need the stress.

What do you think ?

How do you guys tolerate ir35 ?

Stevo

PS: when I last lived in uk I had a ltd co. through IAS/Giant. Absolute. Total. Nightmare.