• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Same Limited Company for different trades

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Same Limited Company for different trades

Hello,

I am an IT contractor and planning to setup a limited company soon.

My wife is thinking of starting a business of selling garments online and local from home. Initially she will be starting as a Sole Trader but later as the business grows she might have the need to use a limited company for her business.

I have the following questions please:

1. Can we both use the same limited company (for IT and garments trading)?

2. If the above is yes then does the name of the Limited company matter. Like for example will it matter if I use a name related to 'fashion'?

3. If yes for 1 then should both use the same business account?

Many Thanks & Regard
    San

Hi San,

1. You can use the same limited company and have several trading styles under the limited company name.
    2. Not particularly although you probably want to think about not naming it San IT Consultancy Limited if it's trading as San Fashion. You can call it San Limited (or similar if available) so that you use it as San Limited t/a San Fashion (if that makes sense)
    3. You should have any income going into a limited company name bank account although you're not restricted to one accounts, so you could have 2 accounts where one is called San Limited t/a San Fashion and the other as San Limited t/a/ San IT.