• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

PAYE/NIC/SUBCONTRACTOR 2010/11 Payment Overdue Letter?!?!?!?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

PAYE/NIC/SUBCONTRACTOR 2010/11 Payment Overdue Letter?!?!?!?

Hi

First post so please forgive any errors!

I received a letter from HMRC titled the above, advising me that their records show this payment is overdue. It meant nothing to me at all - I've never seen a letter like this in the past. I am in my 3rd year of IT contracting, trading as a ltd company (just me) and have used the same independent accountant to date who is currently finalising my 2nd year of accounts. When I scanned the letter and sent it to him he advised this is an error on HMRCs part and that he has other client's who have had this problem. He advised it is not relevant to me and he will advise them of this to resolve it.

My concern is, how do I know this is true? I'm always uncomfortable just doing as I'm told, despite me paying for his professional advice....

Can someone advise what criteria determines the need for this payment in the first place please? Should I be worried? Has anyone else heard of this error being made?

I've tried searching on here but can't find anything so far...

Thanks in advance for your help!

Hi Ella,

HMRC are sending out a lot of these letters at the moment because they are intending to start charging interest on late payments (which they've never done in the past).